Information Security
Women with glasses browsing on laptop

Cyber Security Certifications You Need To Know

Finding the right career path is similar to starting a business. If you can identify where your personal interests and market demand meet, you’re onto a winner. 

Technology is now a pivotal factor for business across the globe. As a result, cyber security has become an in-demand skillset to keep these companies operating.

In fact, the demand for cyber security professionals has skyrocketed past the number available. As we write this, 2,085 jobs mention ‘cyber security’ on Indeed. And 47 of those adverts were posted in the last 24 hours.

If starting a career as a cybersecurity expert has piqued your interest, or you’re just playing with the idea of switching careers into cyber security, there are a number of security frameworks that are worth you knowing about.

They can be hard to get your head around at first, so we’ve compiled the essential ones any new cyber security professional needs to know.

5 cyber security certifications for entry-level and mid-weight professionals

Before we get started, It’s important to note on your cybersecurity certification path that a large proportion of certifications are given to an individual as part of an organisation or to the organisation itself. So, you don’t always need to pursue these certifications alone, but reading up on them will show you’re a self-starter with a dedication to your craft.

Cyber Essentials

Cyber Essentials is a government-backed programme designed to tackle the most common cyber security threats. All government-funded organisations must pursue this certification, and almost all businesses will voluntarily choose to. As the cyber security expert, it will be your job to complete a self-assessment for the organisation and gain its Cyber Essentials certification. 

Not only does the process act as a valuable audit of your current set-up, but the badge provides reassurance to customers and acts as a deterrent to potential hackers.

To achieve cyber essentials certification you’ll need a thorough understanding of the most common cyber threats and the essential security measures needed to protect all businesses.

Cyber Essentials Plus

As you might guess, this certification is a step up from the previous Cyber Essentials. At the ‘Plus’ status level, an external assessor will professionally evaluate your organisation. 

The assessor will look through user devices, internet gateways, servers, and the wider infrastructure. At each level, they identify if you’ve installed protective measures such as antivirus and malware software and check you are following human and maintenance best practices.

To help your organisation achieve Cyber Essentials Plus, you’ll need to have a more detailed understanding of the security threats to your specific organisation and great communication skills to collaborate with the auditor.

ISO 27001

ISO stands for ‘International Organisation for Standardisation’. This body offers certifications across all business operations from eco-friendliness to documentation standards and, of course, security. ISO 27001 verifies that an organisation takes a risk-based approach to their Information Security Management System (ISMS). Specifically when protecting the confidentiality, credibility, and availability of stored information assets.

For ISO 27001, you’ll need to be proficient at identifying vulnerabilities and their potential knock-on impact, even in the most unlikely of scenarios.

ISO 22301

ISO 22301 looks at an organisation’s business continuity management systems. Beyond your current set-up, auditors will analyse how your organisation manages disruptive incidents when they arise and its steps to continually improve. 

To achieve ISO 22301, you need to have excellent deductive reasoning skills to break down the different possibilities and create and implement comprehensive plans around them.


The SOC 2 certification is for service-based organisations. The audit uses a Security Operations Centre to certify the trustworthiness of the organisation’s services. Trustworthiness covers four key sections: the availability of an organisation and its data, data confidentiality, data processing integrity, and finally, the privacy afforded to its clients. 

Whether you’re in the Security Operations Centre, or the internal cyber security specialist working with the SOC, you’ll need great communication skills to identify and continually improve your security practices based on the feedback of others.

Interested in a career in cyber security?

We’re passionate about filling the cyber security skills gap. So feel free to drop us a message, and we’ll be more than happy to give you some pointers to plan the right cyber security career roadmap for you.