Information Security

What is ISO? – A Beginner’s Guide

The International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO) is a non-government organisation made up of standards bodies from more than 160 countries, each country has one standards body representing them, issuing standards and certificates that should be followed. In the UK this is the British Standards Institute or BSI. 

An ISO standard is an internationally recognised way that dictates how things should be done. It means that everyone should be following.  

What is an ISO Certification?

As it relates to ISO standards, certification is a certifying body’s assurance that a service, product, or system meets the requirements of the standard. ISO develops standards, third party certification bodies certify the standards. 

What does an ISO Certification mean for you? 

Holding an ISO certificate will help prove to your customers and suppliers that you have the skills, processes and controls required to maintain a world class level of information security, helping to maintain reputation, compliance, and strategic relationships. 

By becoming compliant an organisation transitions into a state of continuous improvement and audit ensuring constant enhancement of information security controls, whilst also evidencing these with regular audits.

The certifications last three years with certified businesses expected to perform regular surveillance audits to keep their certification status. 

Becoming certified; the process can be expensive and time consuming, however there are many reasons organisations choose to get certified, the main reasons include: 

  • Regulatory requirement
  • Commercial Standards
  • Customer requirements 

Every certification body has a different tactic to certifying an organisation, CyberCrowds approach is to make the process as easy and as streamlined as possible for our customers. 

Some of the most popular ISO standards include:

  • ISO/IEC 27000 – These security standards define a six-step process for developing and implementing information security policies and processes
  • ISO/IEC 22301– This security management standard specifies more than 100 best practices for business continuity, access control, asset management and more
  • ISO/IEC 20000- This ISO standard creates a technical specification and codifies best practice for IT service management 
  • ISO/IEC 12207 – This ISO standard creates a consistent lifecycle management process for all software
  • ISO 9000 – This family of standards defines how organisations can establish and maintain effective quality assurance systems for manufacturing and service industries

How are ISO Standards developed? 

ISO has a 6-stage process for developing standards. These stages are:

  1. Proposal Stage 
  2. Preparatory Stage 
  3. Committee Stage 
  4. Enquiry Stage 
  5. Approval Stage 
  6. Publication Stage

ISO members vote on standards approvals. A standard must receive affirmative votes from at least two-thirds of participating members and negative votes from no more than one fourth of participating members. 

How can CyberCrowd help you to achieve your ISO certification?

CyberCrowd are ISO 27001 assessors. ISO 27001 specifies the standards for information security management systems. This standard includes a robust range of controls built on industry best practises ensuring information security. 

The aim of this standard is to provide a structured risk-based approach to managing security threats to an organisation’s information assets’ confidentiality, credibility, and availability. 

CyberCrowd’s experts will assist you in preparing for ISO 27001 certification, putting the information security management system into place. Writing policies and protocols is what out experts do for fun; we aim to make the process as streamlined and as pain free as possible for your organisation. 

Our unique approach ensures that our consultants work with your teams and management to retain, refine, and create materials to ensure full compliance with ISO 27001 requirements.